My Greatest High

Even as I begin a new life, it’s easy to find myself losing grip of it. Considering 13 hours out of my day revolve around working in an office, 5 days a week and getting home too late to do anything, it’s hard to stop myself switching into auto-pilot. Anyone who has a similar work schedule could agree that in such a boring, repetitive pattern, you just kind of waft through the week, you’re up and doing what you need to do but you’re not really there, you’re not living it.  I fell back into auto-pilot the first week into my new life, when I realised this I decided I needed to do something crazy. So I bought myself a ticket to go skydiving on Saturday morning.
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Now I’ve always been an adrenaline junkie, you couldn’t find a rollercoaster that I’d refuse, with that being said, jumping out of a moving plane at 14,000 feet in the air is a whole new ball park. I realised this as soon as the tandem had me hanging out the side of the plane with nothing to hold onto but myself. As I hung there looking at my feet dangling above the clouds, the fear was like nothing I’ve felt before, I could feel the my blood rushing through my veins at an accelerated pace, I couldn’t even scream I was in a state of shock. All of a sudden I felt the drop and we were all of a sudden backwards and I was watching the plane pass over the top of me and all my fear just went away. I felt insane, I can’t even describe it, the adrenaline coursing through my whole body, the feeling of falling through the sky. I have never felt so alive in my entire life. Throughout the whole 45 seconds of free falling through the clouds, flipping, twisting and watching my scenery flip back and forth from the beautiful clouds in the sky to the stunning birds eye view of the coastline, I fell in love with the feeling.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Even after I landed I was buzzing, all day I was so happy and exhilarated. I knew somewhere along the way I’d lost my lust for life and living but this experience has rekindled that old flame. I forgot the feeling of really being alive but now I’ve felt it I’m addicted. As cliché as this sounds, I was high on life and it was the best high I’ve ever had. That shot of adrenaline was just what I needed to bring me back to life, I am ready to live again, experience new things and embrace life as much as I possibly can. I am back, and as for skydiving, well it’s safe to say that’s definitely not the last time I’ll be doing it.

All My Love,
Dazey Duke

Leave a Reply

